Happy TunesDay: Collection 58

A couple weeks have come and gone. Apologies for falling behind on TunesDays again!

This past week, I’ve been revisiting my roots a little bit and sifting through Chinese music. I’ve mostly found Mandarin music that I like, with a bit of Canto-pop sprinkled in. Unfortunately, I couldn’t find a lot of the songs I wanted on Soundcloud…so if anyone has any indie/alternative Cantonese tunes to recommend, I’d appreciate it!

I used to just think popular Chinese music was bubble-gum pop goodness or really brooding ballads, but just like the US, China & Taiwan’s music scene is eclectic and varied…you just kind of need to sort through a bunch of stuff to get to the sound you like. Β It doesn’t help that my Chinese is super discombobulated, and I can only read every 17th word.

For this week’s playlist, I put together a variety of Mandarin tunes from different genres. Most of them are jazzy, bossanova sounds, but there’s some other surprises in store too.

Now my next task is to actually understand what these songs are about…

Leave a Reply

